Two Houses of Parliament

The Parliament is the supreme legislative body of India. The Indian Parliament consists of the President and two Houses – the Rajya Sabha (Council of States) and the Lok Sabha (House of the People). The President has the power to summon or prorogue either House of the Parliament or to dissolve the Lok Sabha. The Constitution of India came into force on January 26, 1950. The first general elections under the new constitution were held in 1951-52 and the first elected parliament came into existence in April 1952.

Lok Sabha constituted
First April, 1952
second April, 1957
the third April, 1962
the fourth March, 1967
fifth March, 1971
Sixth March, 1977
seventh January, 1980
Eighth December, 1984
the ninth December, 1989
tenth June, 1991
the eleventh May, 1996
twelfth March, 1998
the thirteenth October, 1999
fourteenth May, 2004
the fifteenth April, 2009
sixteenth May, 2014
seventeenth May, 2019