What are the Physical Divisions of India


what are the physical divisions of india

Ever since India became a republic in 1950, the country has undergone a number of significant changes. The physical divisions of the country have shifted, too – from an era when the British ruled over various princely states and colonial territories to one where India is now a federation of 29 states. What follows is a guide to understanding India’s federal structure, based on the Indian Constitution.

Geography of India

Physical divisions of India are based on the regions of the country. The regions are further divided into states and union territories. Each state has a unique geography and culture. Some of the major regions in India are North India, Northeast India, South India, West India, Central India and East India. North India is the largest region in terms of area and is made up of nine states – Uttarakhand, Haryana, Punjab, Uttar Pradesh, Bihar, Jharkhand, Rajasthan, Madhya Pradesh and Chhattisgarh. Northeast India is home to five states – Assam, Arunachal Pradesh, Manipur, Meghalaya and Mizoram. South India is made up of 27 states – Andhra Pradesh, Tamil Nadu, Karnataka, Kerala, Telangana, Goa Gujarat Maharashtra , Odisha , Chattisgarh , Jharkhand , Sikkim and West Bengal . West India consists of seven states – Gujarat, Maharashtra , Madhya Pradesh , Rajasthan , Uttar Pradesh , Bihar and Odisha . Central India includes five states – Chhattisgarh , Madhya Pradesh , Chhattisgarh State (Anand), Telangana , And

Physical Divisions of India

India is a country in south Asia and is the world’s second most populous country with over 1.2 billion people. The country is bordered by Pakistan in the north and east, China in the northeast, and Sri Lanka in the south. The Indian subcontinent was home to several ancient kingdoms and empires such as the Mauryan Empire, the Gupta Empire, and the Mughal Empire. After independence from British rule in 1947, India became a republic divided into two separate countries: India and Pakistan. India is home to a variety of languages and cultures, including Hinduism, Islam, Buddhism, and Sikhism.

Physical Regions of India

India is a vast country with many different geographical areas. Each region has its own unique culture and customs. There are also several different languages spoken in India, which can make traveling around the country a bit tricky. Here is a rundown of the main physical divisions of India:

North India: North India includes the states of Delhi, Haryana, Punjab, Uttar Pradesh, and Rajasthan. The region is traditionally agricultural, with a significant population of Muslims and Sikhs. The capital city of Delhi is one of the most densely populated cities in the world.

South India: South India includes the states of Andhra Pradesh, Karnataka, Kerala, Tamil Nadu, and Telangana. This region is more rural and consists mostly of Hindus and Christians. The scenic beaches and rainforests of Kerala are well known throughout the world. Chennai (formerly Madras) is one of the largest and most cosmopolitan cities in South India.

West India: West India includes the state of Gujarat as well as the union territory of Puducherry. Gujarat is an industrial hub with major ports on both the Arabian Sea and the Gulf of Cambay. Puducherry is home to an international airport as well

Religion in India

Religion in India is a complex and diverse topic. There are many different religious groups in India, and each group has its own beliefs and practices. The main religious divisions in India are Hinduism, Islam, and Christianity. Hinduism is the largest religion in India, and it is based on beliefs about the eternal existence of life and the universe. Islam is the second-largest religion in India, and it is based on the teachings of Muhammad ibn Abdullah. Christianity is the third-largest religion in India, and it is based on beliefs about Jesus Christ.

Languages in India

The languages spoken in India are a rich and diverse mix. There are more than 2,000 languages spoken in the country, making it the world’s second most linguistically diverse country after Papua New Guinea. The official language of India is Hindi. However, there are also dozens of other languages spoken in various parts of the country, including Tamil, Telugu, Marathi, Gujarati, Bengali and Malayalam.

Nature in India

India is a land of contrasts – from the snow-capped Himalayas in the north to the tropical south. India’s physical divisions are as diverse as its people and cultures. Here are five of India’s most striking physical divisions:

1) The Himalayan Mountains: The highest peak in India, Mount Everest, is located in the Himalayan mountains. These mountains are a treasure trove of flora and fauna, including some of the world’s most impressive mountain ranges and valleys.

2) The Deccan Plateau: The Deccan plateau covers an area of more than 120,000 sq km and is one of the most sparsely populated regions in India. It’s home to some of India’s most impressive monuments, including the Taj Mahal.

3) The Thar Desert: The Thar desert occupies an area greater than Austria. It’s home to some of India’s rarest animals, including the Asiatic lion.

4) The Eastern Ghats: The Eastern Ghats form a dramatic range of hills that run along the coast of Tamil Nadu and Kerala states. These hills are popular tourist destinations, with forests, waterfalls, and beaches dotting their slopes.


India is a country with a diverse culture and mix of people. The physical divisions are not uniform throughout the nation and there are several social groups that have their own customs, beliefs and practices that differ from one region to another. In this article, I will attempt to provide an overview of the main physical divisions in India along with some examples of how these divisions play out in everyday life.